A Life Askew

Bumbling Through One Day At A Time

A Cut Above the Rest

on May 22, 2012

Just over a week ago, I posted about my very bad, terrible, no good day.  Well, my unlucky day anyhow.  The day when I got the awful hair cut.

This post is about how that actually turned out.  Which was pretty bad.

See? It didn’t look so bad….

This is what I had to work with, and it wasn’t soo bad.  Well, that’s what I thought, until I found this….

What can I say that the picture doesn’t?

I couldn’t believe how uneven it was!!  I mean, I knew she was probably a little off, but sheesh!!  And because my hair is so curly, it wasn’t very noticeable until I’d straightened it.  Which was about the only way I could make it look alright.

Now it obviously needed fixing.  And I obviously needed my money back for the first cut.

I had to be back in Craig for the circus a few days later, so I called another place (All About You-They rock there!!) and set up an appointment with them.  (The place is co-owned by a gal I was in high-school with and she actually knows how to cut curly hair.)

Before I went there I figured I’d go by the first shop (cough*Studio 7*cough) and get my money back while my  head was still all screwed up, you know, so they couldn’t accuse my of buyer’s remorse.

I caught the owner (yes, the OWNER) outside and told her what happened, and showed her the obvious problem.  She brushed me off and sent me inside to deal with it myself.  I’ll come back to that point.

So, I go inside to talk to the girl who cut my hair.  Her and the other stylist are standing together at the desk.

Now, let me say this, I really don’t want to be mean.  I know she’s inexperienced and it wasn’t her fault they scheduled her to do my hair.

That said, as nicely as I can, I explain I need my money returned.  And what do I get for my efforts?  The other stylist is glaring at me and the girl that cut my hair is asking me what she did wrong.  So I show her.  Her response is, “If you just tell me how I can fix it…”

I have two problems with this response.

A. She’s not touching my head again, not for all the tea in China.

B. If I knew how to fix it, why would I have to go to a professional to get my hair cut?  I mean, if I can tell someone how, exactly, to cut my hair, then why not stay home and walk my boyfriend through it?  (Which might have worked out better.)

Still, I’m trying to be nice, but my blood pressure is climbing, and I can feel it.  I tell her that I really don’t want her to fix it.  That, in fact, that isn’t an option at all.  I just want my money returned to me.  That’s it.  And of course, she has to continue to press the issue.  “Why don’t you want me to fix it?” she asks.  Why indeed?  Because you’re a twit!!!!!  Okay, that’s not what I said, and it’s considerably nicer than what I was thinking.  I had to, patiently (and while twitching), explain that she simply wasn’t experienced enough to cut my hair.  End of story.  Remember the other stylist?  Darts are shooting out of her eyes, maybe flame throwers.  Because, after all, I’m the bad guy here.

Finally, she agrees to give me my money back, but another problem, the salon doesn’t have the money.  (Deep breaths)

No, they haven’t gone to the bank yet, but if I want to sit there (with the evilly glaring stylist) and wait, she’d be glad to go make change.

That was it.  Last straw.  I mean, are you flippin’ kidding me?  Aside from the fact that I have other places to be, I’ve been put out enough by these ridiculous women.  Not as kindly as I’d been to this point, I tell them to keep their stupid money because it’s simply not worth $25 to spend another minute in their stupid shop.

Which brings me back to the owner.  Who the hell would do that with their business?  While we were getting our hair cut she was asking everyone to vote them the best place in Craig, Co.  So, I mean, it looks like she cares, maybe a little.  But it certainly doesn’t when she leaves her unhappy customers to fend for themselves.  She obviously doesn’t give a crap what happens in her store as long as she keep making money.  Which won’t happen if that crap goes on!!!  Gah!!!  I’m not sure if I’m more bothered that I got bad service or that she just doesn’t care in general.  I mean, if you don’t give a shit, close the doors!!!!

So, yeah, I was ready to blow when I got in my car to leave.  Which set me up for my appointment to get my hair fixed.

I think I was actually shaking when I walked in.

Which was an entirely opposite experience from walking into the first place.  In fact, just looking around inspired confidence.  The fact that the stylist was happy to see me helped a lot too.  The fact that I showed her the most visible problem and she responded with, “What the f-ck did she do to your head?”  brightened my day so much so that it felt like the clouds had just parted and the sun was shining brighter.  Finally, someone gave a damn!!

As the hair cut went on we giggled about the silly music we listened to in high school (I still like the Spice Girls, and I ain’t ashamed to admit it!!), talked about good lookin’ guys and ranted and raved about my terrible, awful, very bad, no good hair cut.  She showed me what she was doing every step of the way and showed me all the things she was fixing.  And explained why she was doing what she was doing.  And my favorite part, she swore like a drunken sailor every time she moved to a new section of my hair and found how completely uneven it was every where.  I’ve never had more fun getting my hair cut. 🙂  Then, she styles my hair.  Then she teaches me how to style my hair (which was fabulous).  Then we get all done, and she notices the floor behind me.

I drew a line to show where the chair centered while I was getting my hair cut.

 

It’s kind of hard to see, but the left side has a few little fluffs of hair while the right it’s piling up higher and higher.  When it was all said and done, the right side was about 1in.- 1 1/2in. longer all the way around.  I just thought the visual was hilarious.

I left with fabulous hair (that I don’t have a picture of yet… ) and feeling great.  It’s amazing what a difference 1 1/2in can make eh?

I’m glad that it’s over now and I can sit back and laugh instead of want to stab things.  I also learned a lesson here, patience will help.  If I hadn’t been in a rush to get an appointment, I’d have gone some where better.  Next time, I’ll wait. 🙂

Oh!  And my luck seems to have taken a turn for the better!  Last weekend I caught the bouquet at a wedding, where my boyfriend was best man.  Things are looking good!!!

2 responses to “A Cut Above the Rest

  1. Cristen says:

    I ended up just fixing my own stupid hair cut, but I should have straightened it first to see how bad it was. Glad you got yours fixed though! And we’ll never, NEVER NEVER NEVER, stay in a salon where the stylist says, “This will be a really good refresher for me on cutting curly hair”. N.E.V.E.R!!!

    • alifeaskew says:

      I’m sorry I took you to an awful place to get your hair cut!! (Even though it was you that suggested them… 😉 ) But I don’t blame you for not straightening it. If my hair was as long as yours, why, I’d cut it off!! 😛

Leave a Reply

