A Life Askew

Bumbling Through One Day At A Time

I Guess I’ll Have a Cookie.

on March 18, 2012

For the last week, I’ve been craving Kripsy Kreme donuts like nobody ever should.  I went so far as to pick up some donuts at the store the other day, but they were, well, disappointing.  Kroger donuts ain’t got shit on Krispy Kreme.  Oh, for a warm, slightly cripsy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside, donut.  With glaze so sweet your teeth run for hills in anticipation.

Unfortunately for me, it’s at least a 4 hour drive to the nearest Krispy Kreme.  (I would completely be okay with moving closer…)  With no good donut options, and because making them would be a disaster, I decided to settle on cookies.  But not just any cookies, chocolate-oatmeal no-bake cookies.  And not just any chocolate-oatmeal no-bake cookies, but the ones I grew up with.

Over the years I’ve tried a few different recipes and always wind up throwing away cookies (which I believe Moses said was a sin).  So, for the sake of my soul, I determined to make my mom’s (actually my great-grandmother’s, I think) recipe.  You would think, with some thing this important, I’d already have it, but alas, no.

The first step was to call my sister.  (My mom had some weird face issues going and I couldn’t get her on the phone earlier.  Or that’s the best I could get out of my brother.  My mom is probably fine.)  My sister was, of course, shocked and dismayed that I didn’t already have the recipe.  In fact, I probably should have remembered it.  Since we made it nearly once a week from the time we were able to safely use the stove (except my sister, she still hasn’t gotten there…)

After a little begging, she finally gave up the goods.  And they’re good. 🙂  So, without further ado, here is our family recipe for Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies!

Ignore the poor quality and smut book, focus on the deliciousness that is the cookie!!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4c cocoa powder
  • 2c sugar
  • 1/2c milk
  • 1/2c (1 stick) butter (I don’t know how margarine would work, I’ve never used it.)
  • 1tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2c peanut butter
  • 3c whole rolled oats (that is the only kind i’ve ever used, I don’t know how other types would turn out)

Directions:

  1. Mix together the cocoa powder and sugar in a sauce pan. (One that is big enough to hold all the ingredients.)
  2. Stir in the milk.
  3. Add the butter and turn on medium heat to melt the butter.
  4. Once butter is melted, stir occasionally until boiling.  Once boiling stir constantly for 4 minutes (forever).  Scraping the sides is not only fine, you probably should. 😀
  5. After the chocolatey gooey mixture has boiled for 4 minutes, remove it from the heat and mix in the vanilla and peanut butter.  Mix them in until the peanut butter is completely mixed in.
  6. Mix in the oats until evenly coated and mixed in.
  7. Using a spoon, spoon cookie size bloops of hot mixture onto a piece of foil laying flat on the counter.
  8. Let cool and set up (approximately an hour if you can stay out of them).

This makes about 18-24 cookies, depending on what size you make them.  It may appear to make less if you eat half of them before they’re done.  Just a warning.

And thus ends my first attempt at productivity with my blog!!

One response to “I Guess I’ll Have a Cookie.

  1. Cristen says:

    A few things I would have you know…!
    1. Fabulous that mom’s face issues aren’t fatal.
    2. I should have charged you the price of 1 soul for that recipe 😀
    3. Margarine works just fine, the 1 stick (1/2 cup). It’s what I generally end up using.

Leave a Reply

