A Life Askew

Bumbling Through One Day At A Time

30 is Nearly Upon Me…

on March 14, 2012

Well, here I am.  I can’t believe how much I’ve intimidated myself over posting anything on this blog.

Really, it’s terrifying.

I suppose I feel that whatever I put in here should be a master piece and go viral in the hour.  I have to accept this is incredibly unlikely.  In fact, it’s so unlikely as to be normal.

That said, I have something on my mind. 🙂

It’s 10:50PM and I just got out of bed after laying there for a fruitless hour and a half.  Insomnia is horrible.  But what is worse than not actually being able to sleep is that my mind refuses to shut off.  So I don’t even get to lay there in silence, because I have this running commentary going through my head the entire time.

Tonight, it was, “What should I post?  I need to think of something good.  Maybe I should do a recipe.  How about talking about something funny that happened with my kid?  No, no one cares about that.”

Well, I decided.

I’m going to be *gasps* 30 in a few ever shortening months.  I never thought age would bother me, but holy goodness it really is starting to.  So, I’ve started doing what any normal person would, freak out.  I’m freaking out quietly, but freaking out none the less.

Luckily, my freaking out has actually been really good for me.  It’s really made me take a look at where I am and where I want to be.  And where I am is good in a lot of ways, but in some ways, well, it really sucks.

“Which ways?” you ask?

Why, I’ll tell you.  Physically, I am in terrible shape.  Terrible.  I’m over weight by at least 40lb.s and I smoke like a chimney.  My diet is terrible and I rarely, if ever, exercise.  These things are parts of my life that, until now, I never really thought about other to complain that I’m fat.

But I’m tired of it!!!  I have a wonderful kid that I want to be able to care for and be there for until we’re both old and wrinkly.  I have a  boyfriend that I feel pretty similar about most days.  My health is not as good as it should be, and it’s because I haven’t bothered to try and take care of myself.  Until now.

Over the past 6 months I’ve been making BIG changes.  Slowly though, so as not to scare myself off.  First things first was improving the food that I was putting into my body.  Vegetables were a mystery food in my house.  Now we’re eating them with every meal.  Healthier snacking choices, tomatoes instead of potato chips…

I’m actually really proud of the changes I’ve not only made, but have kept up with!  We looked up a list of catabolic foods (you can nay say all you want, I’ve convinced myself they’re magic and that helps me keep eating them, especially when I don’t want to).  Go figure the list is all veggies and fruits.  I’m really okay with fruits.  They’re fun, and sweet, and healthy, and sweet…  Veggies, however, are my downfall.  So I’ve been trying to find creative ways to add them to food that we already know we like.  For this, my food processor is my hero.  And we’re doing great.  And my kid is loving it too!  The other day she actually chose, and asked for seconds, asparagus over home made mac & cheese.  As shocked as I was, I was seriously super proud too.

So, with the food thing under control, what is next?  Well, exercise of course!!

Now, I mentioned I’m fat and lazy, so running marathons is out.  For now.  No, it’ll never happen.  But I needed to find a way to exercise comfortably and without witnesses.  I have the Xbox Kinect.  I really like the work out game I got for it.  But, it’s too advanced for me.  Who starts out career couch potatoes with squats and lunges?  Who?? I ask, WHO?!?!

With the Kinect out, for now, I had to think of something I, not only could do, but WOULD do at home, in the winter, in beautiful mountainous Colorado.

I bought a recumbent exercise bike.  I have incredibly stupid issues with my nerves, joints and well, my body, so I got the recumbent bike to ease the process.  And I’ve been riding it fairly consistently.  In fact, in two weeks, I’ve got 70 miles.  ME, this lady, has ridden 70 miles.  I’m more proud of that than the veggies!!!

And now that it’s finally warming up in my neck of the woods, I’m able to get out and walk my energetic dog.  (She is a husky-dalmatian mix.)  She is also good motivation to get in good enough shape to run with her.  This is going to take a while, but I would like to be able to run a mile with her by my birthday.

In fact, my birthday is my anchor.  By September 1st I would like to:

1. Lose 30 lb.s (30/30 get it? 🙂 )

2. Be able to run a mile without fear of death.

3. Be able to touch my toes. (Okay, this isn’t because I’m so fat I can’t reach.  I’m really not, even remotely, flexible.)

4. Stop smoking. THERE!!! I’ve said it!!!  I want to be smoke free by the time I turn 30.  I’ve been smoking for more than half my life.  This will be the hardest thing I do.

5. Be a successful business owner.  I don’t have to be making 6 figures, but I would like to have steady business going.

I have just shy of six months to do all these things.  And now that it’s public, I have to assume millions of people will have read this and if I don’t make legitimate efforts on all counts I’ll die of the guilt of having lied to all of them.

With that, I’m going to go ride my bike and pray it wears me out enough to get some sleep tonight. 😀

3 responses to “30 is Nearly Upon Me…

  1. Alicia Burl says:

    I love it Katy you can do this i know you can girl keep us posted on your efforts and remember if you dont do all that by thirty just remember you WILL do it as long as you perserver!!

  2. Cristen says:

    Funny how getting older makes us realize that we’re wasting our youth on feeling terribly old, thereby forcing us to find a way to feel young again before we’re…old…haha!

  3. You can do it! You can do it! I believe in you!

Leave a Reply

